ManyChat vs Chatfuel for Instagram automation

ManyChat bills by active contacts and has a free plan of 25 contacts. Chatfuel has no free plan but charges a flat price with unlimited contacts, from US$18 a month billed yearly, with AI credits included. As volume grows, Chatfuel's flat price usually wins. ManyChat suits builders who want a free start and a mature flow editor.

Updated · 7 min read · By the ReplyRep team

ManyChat or Chatfuel: what is the quick verdict?

Both are multi-channel chat automation platforms that cover Instagram. They differ most in how they price. ManyChat charges by the contacts you talk to each month. Chatfuel charges a flat price with unlimited active contacts and meters AI usage with credits.

  • Pick ManyChat if you want to start on a free plan and build branching flows, broadcasts and email in a mature visual builder.
  • Pick Chatfuel if you want an AI agent answering across Instagram, Facebook and WhatsApp, and a bill that does not grow with your contact count.

ManyChat figures are per manychat.com/pricing, checked 19 October 2026. Chatfuel figures are from chatfuel.com/pricing on the same date. Chatfuel's page showed yearly-billed prices only; its monthly-billed prices were not shown, so they are not here.

How does ManyChat pricing work?

ManyChat bills by active contacts: each person you interact with in a month counts once. Free covers 25 contacts and up to 4 automations, with ManyChat branding.

ManyChat paid tiers, per manychat.com/pricing, checked 19 October 2026. Monthly prices.
TierPrice a monthActive contacts includedEach extra contact
Essential$14250$0.10
Pro$292,500$0.05
Business$697,500$0.025
Advanced$13925,000$0.004

Overage keeps automations running and bills each extra contact. More detail in our ManyChat pricing guide.

Take 5,000 contacts. Staying on Pro means $29 plus 2,500 extra contacts at $0.05, which is $154. Moving up to Business costs $69 because 5,000 fits inside its 7,500 contacts. The worked examples on this page use the cheaper of the two, but you only get that price if you change tier; overage on the lower tier is what you pay if you do not.

How does Chatfuel pricing work?

Chatfuel lists two plans, both with unlimited active contacts and unlimited messages. AI usage is metered by AI credits, with a fair-use allowance. There is no free plan; every plan has a free trial with no card.

Chatfuel plans, from chatfuel.com/pricing, checked 19 October 2026. Yearly billing (shown as "Yearly -10%").
PlanPer month, billed yearlyPer yearAI credits a monthCompanies
BusinessUS$18US$216US$20Not stated
Agency SUS$90US$1,080US$1003

Two things are not on the page in text form: monthly-billed prices, and per-channel limits. If either matters to you, check them in Chatfuel's pricing toggle and its limits page before you sign up. The trial is the easy way to test: Chatfuel says every plan has one and no card is needed, though the number of days was not stated.

The useful way to think about Chatfuel's model: you are buying a flat seat for the platform, plus a monthly budget of AI usage. The more your automations rely on the AI agent rather than fixed keyword replies, the more that budget matters.

What does each cost at 500, 5,000 and 50,000 contacts a month?

Say each person who comments your keyword is one contact for the month. ManyChat's cost moves with that number. Chatfuel's does not, because contacts are unlimited; what moves on Chatfuel is AI usage.

ManyChat per manychat.com/pricing (monthly) and Chatfuel per chatfuel.com/pricing (billed yearly), checked 19 October 2026.
Contacts a monthManyChatChatfuel
500Pro, $29 a monthBusiness, US$18 a month billed yearly
5,000Business, $69 a monthBusiness, US$18 a month billed yearly
50,000Advanced, $239 a monthBusiness, US$18 a month billed yearly

Two caveats keep this fair. First, the ManyChat figures are monthly prices and the Chatfuel figures are yearly billing, so Chatfuel asks for US$216 up front. Second, Chatfuel's Business plan includes US$20 of AI credits a month; if your automations lean heavily on AI replies, check Chatfuel's limits page for what happens past that.

Plain keyword-to-DM automations do not need AI at all, which is where flat pricing helps most. Run your own volumes in the Instagram DM tool cost calculator.

How do ManyChat and Chatfuel compare on features?

As of October 2026. "Not confirmed" means we could not read it on the vendor's own page, not that the feature is missing.
ManyChatChatfuel
Billed byActive contacts a monthFlat plan, unlimited contacts; AI credits metered
Free planYes, 25 contactsNo; free trial on every plan, no card
Cheapest paid planEssential, $14 a month for 250 contactsBusiness, US$18 a month billed yearly
Comment-to-DM on posts and reelsYesYes, reels use the same automation as posts
Story repliesNot confirmedYes
Ad comment repliesNot confirmedYes, with their own automation
AI repliesNot confirmed in our figuresYes, AI credits on both plans
ChannelsInstagram, Messenger, WhatsApp and moreInstagram, Facebook, WhatsApp; TikTok and website listed
For agenciesNot confirmedAgency S: 3 companies, US$90 a month billed yearly

Ad comment replies matter if you run paid posts: see how Instagram ad comment automation works.

Who should pick ManyChat, and who should pick Chatfuel?

Pick ManyChat if

  • You want to start on a free plan and only pay once it is working.
  • You want to build branching flows, broadcasts and email in one visual builder.
  • Your monthly contact count is modest and steady.

Pick Chatfuel if

  • You want an AI agent answering on Instagram, Facebook and WhatsApp.
  • Your contact count is large or swings month to month, and you want the price to stay put.
  • You run it for clients: Agency S covers 3 companies.
  • You are happy to pay yearly.

Where does ReplyRep fit as a third option?

If what you actually need is Instagram comment-to-DM, story replies, follow-gated DMs and email capture, ReplyRep is a narrower third option than ManyChat or Chatfuel. It is Instagram only, built on Meta's official API by a Meta Business Partner, and bills a flat monthly price for a DM allowance rather than per contact.

The free plan includes 2,000 DMs a month for 1 account. Lite is $10 a month for 10,000 DMs and includes Follow-Gated DMs and the Email Collector (both Lite and up). MAX is $100 a month for 400,000 DMs across 5 accounts. At the three volumes above, with one DM each, that is 500 people on Free, 5,000 on Lite at $10 a month, 50,000 on MAX at $100 a month. See pricing for every plan.

It is not the right pick if you need WhatsApp, Messenger or other channels, because ReplyRep does not do them.

Try it on one post

The free plan has 2,000 DMs a month and no card.

Start free

How do you switch between ManyChat and Chatfuel?

Both have their own builders, so flows do not import from one to the other. Rebuild the automations that matter, one post at a time, and use Chatfuel's free trial or ManyChat's free plan to test before you commit. Our guide to setting up comment-to-DM covers the trigger and message.

  1. 1

    List what is live in ManyChat

    Write down each automation that is switched on: the post or story, the keyword, the DM text, the link and any follow-up. Start with the post that gets the most comments.

  2. 2

    Rebuild it in Chatfuel

    Recreate the trigger and the message. Comment-to-DM automations are usually a post, a keyword and a message, so this is quicker than it sounds. Keep the same keyword so old captions still work.

  3. 3

    Switch the ManyChat automation off for that post

    Two tools listening to the same post means two DMs for every comment. Turn one off before the other goes live.

  4. 4

    Test from a second account

    Comment the keyword on your own post from another account, check the DM lands, and check the link opens. Then move the next post.

  5. 5

    Export your contacts or emails

    If you collected emails or built segments in the old tool, export them before you cancel. Contact data does not move between tools by itself.

If you move other channels too, such as WhatsApp or Messenger, switch those over separately and check each one, since each channel has its own connection.

Timing helps. Moving from ManyChat to Chatfuel means committing to a yearly bill at the prices shown, so use the trial to rebuild your two or three busiest automations first. Moving from Chatfuel to ManyChat, start on the free plan and watch your active contact count for a few weeks before choosing a tier, so you pick the one that fits your real numbers rather than a guess.

Where these figures come from

Prices change and ManyChat localises by billing country. Check each pricing page before you buy. Figures checked 19 October 2026.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

At high contact counts, usually: Chatfuel Business is US$18 a month billed yearly with unlimited contacts, while ManyChat at 50,000 contacts is Advanced, $239 a month. At low volume ManyChat's free plan costs nothing and Chatfuel has no free plan.

Not as of October 2026. Chatfuel lists a free trial on every plan with no card instead. Its page did not state how many days the trial lasts. ManyChat has a free plan covering 25 active contacts a month.

Chatfuel's pricing page defaulted to yearly billing and showed only yearly prices in its text when we checked in October 2026. Check the page's billing toggle for a current monthly price before comparing with ManyChat's monthly tiers.

Chatfuel states that ad comments have their own automation. We could not confirm ManyChat's ad comment handling on a page we could read, so check its current documentation if paid posts are a big part of your plan.

Yes, both offer WhatsApp alongside Instagram and Facebook Messenger. Chatfuel also lists TikTok and website chat in its navigation. If you only need Instagram, an Instagram-only tool may be simpler to set up and cheaper to run.

Your first automation, live in about four minutes

Free plan, no card, no trial timer. Built on Meta’s official Instagram API.

Start free